2015 Season


For the first time in 13 seasons the Raiders have a new President when Michael Dillon was elected at the 2014 AGM. Mark Leonard will be VP, Glenn Stevens Treasurer and Ross Twyford Secretary. Warwick Graham was appointed Supers coach. Troy Arnott will coach the Masters/Reserves and Mark Leonard will coach the Legends/Over 45’s. Preseason Training began in November 2014 after Melbourne Cup day at Mace Oval in Mt Martha. We continued to train there until our return to Alexandra Park on the 18th of March.

The AFLM changed the Divisions again this season. The North & South Divisions were reintroduced. This put us back into Southern Division against Parkdale, Mordialloc, Carrum, Dingley, Bayside and Cranbourne with new team Narre Warren for Supers. Masters were the same except for Waverley Warriors who will play as Reserves for Narre Warren. The Over 45’s play different teams with Chirnside Park, Craigieburn, Brunswick, Bayside and Old Scotch/Sth Yarra. This gave us 5 Home Triple headers and 6 away games. The Over 45’s have a Bye in Rd11 and play away from the Supers & Masters in 5 away games.

The Raiders played 2 practice games against Carrum at Carrum on March 22nd. We played a Supers game and a combined Reserves/Over 45’s game.

Rd1 was on April 12th at Home v Parkdale(S/M) and Chirnside Park(L).

We held a Reverse Draw fundraising event at the club on Friday the 17th of April.

In the Legends Rd3 game v Brunswick, Ross Twyford played his 200th club game for the Raiders.

Gabe Mauerhofer equalled the club record for goals kicked in the Supers team with 10 goals in Rd4 v Narre Warren. Jim Marconi also kicked 10 goals in Rd4 2001 v Mordialloc.

In Rd6, Mark Leonard played his 150th game against Brunswick at Brunswick. In the same game Ross Sanders played his 100th game.

On Saturday the 20th of June we held a 20th Year Celebration at Mornington Racecourse in the Gunnamatta Room. We had 130 Current and Past Players attend. As part of the night we had an inaugural Hall of Fame where 15 players were inducted. Ash Ackehurst, Brendan Anderson, Troy Arnott, Vin Brown, Paul Clark, Phil Corn, Kevin Deason, Dixon Hayes, Rob Keillor, Mark Leonard, Bill Rutherford, Andy Sumner, Shane Turner, Ross Twyford, Phil Williams.

This season we had the 500th player run out for the club. Troy Arnott played his 150th game for the Raiders in Rd8 v Narre Warren at Narre Warren. Garry Moncrieff played his 150th game against Old Scotch/Sth Yarra at home. He was the 9th Raider to play 150 games. We have had 26 guys play 100 games also.

The Over 45’s won 3 of their first 4 games to sit atop the ladder after Rd4 but then lost their last 6 games to finish bottom of the ladder at the end of the season in a 6 team competition.

The Masters team struggled all season and only recorded 2 wins for the season and finished 7th in an 8 team division.

The Supers had a pretty good season sitting inside the top 4 for the first 10 rounds but a loss in Rd11 saw them miss the finals by a game finishing 5th of 8 teams.

The club struggled a little with numbers again when it came to fielding teams in each round. We had guys willing to double up in games to help out so we were not short on numbers in any game. We had over 100 guys play but couldn’t get full 24 players for each team in any round. There we injuries and unavailability’s that were the reasons for this.

We held the Best & Fairest Vote count on Wednesday the 26th of August at the clubrooms. Matt Jacobs went back to back to win the Supers B&F. Stephen (Mouse) Lewis won the Masters B&F and Mark Leonard won the Over 45’s B&F.

We had a Texas Hold’em fundraiser on the 28th of August that help raise money for the club.

The 2015 player’s trip away went to Hobart on the weekend of 25th, 26th & 27th of September. Almost 40 guys went along.

The Club Presentation night was held at Benito’s in Mornington again on the 10th of October. As well as the Best and Fairest Awards and 12 Milestone awards Cameron Brown won the Best Clubman Award and Dixon Hayes & Paul Clark were awarded Life Membership.