2010 Season


The club executive remained unchanged for 2010 as did the coaching panel. New captains were appointed for the Supers; Gabe Mauerhofer, Masters; Mark Leonard, Des Dalrymple was Over 47 captain for the 3rd season in a row. In March the club played in a mini carnival at Frankston Bombers ground in Baxter hosted by the Frankston Tigersharks. We had an O/47 and Supers team play. At Easter we played in the annual Pambula carnival. As well as the Raiders team there was the “Lenny’s Legends” team celebrating Mark Leonard’s 50th birthday. They played in a special jumper for the carnival. The season was again shortened to 9 rounds. The draw was not a good one for the Raiders with only 3 triple headers at home. The Masters team only had 3 home games all up, the Supers and O/47’s had 4 home games. We swapped the Rd7 O/47 home game to Old Scotch with the Supers so we could be at one venue. Masters had a bye in that game. There were 10 teams in Div 2 Supers, 13 teams in Masters 2/3 and 16 teams in the ever expanding Over 47’s. We had a jumping castle and face painting for the kids at our first home game in Rd2. Frankston won the Rd 5 Raiders/Tigersharks challenge shield by winning the 3 football games. The Netball game was cancelled due to rain. The Supers made the finals but lost in a semi final at Mordialloc FC to Northern Districts who went on to win the Div 2 flag. Masters won through to the Challenge Final for the second year in a row but were beaten in the final by Northern Districts. Mick Burgers, Ash Ackehurst and Garry Moncrieff all played their 100th games for the club. Gordon McQueen and Stephen Lewis played their 50th games. Ross Twyford became the first player at the club to play 150 games in the Supers Semi Final. Troy Arnott won the Division 2 League Best and Fairest award for the 3rd time to go with his Division 1 B&F award. The National Carnival was held in Canberra with Ash Ackehurst awarded an All Australian award for the 3rd time. The Raider presentation Night was held at the Mornington Golf Club. Glenn Stevens was named Best Clubman and Dave Nagy won the player voted “Stephen Knights” Most Admired Raider Award. Bob Keillor and Brendan Anderson were award Life Membership. Damien Park won the Supers B&F, Mark Leonard won the Masters B&F and Vin Brown won the Over 47’s B&F.