2012 Season


Season 2012 was a season of change in Superules football. At the Raiders Brendan Anderson continued as President, Mark Leonard continued as Vice President and Ross Twyford continued as Secretary. We elected a new Treasurer in Glenn Stevens. We began preseason training at Mace Oval again early in November 2011. Damian Park coached the Superules team for the second year. Mark Leonard was appointed coach of the Masters team and Garry Wilson from Frankston Tigersharks took on the Legends coaching job. There were 4 new clubs included in the league. Eastern Rovers and Knox merged to form Eastern Warriors in South Zone along with Heatherton and De La Salle & Laurimar in North Zone. Premier & North Zone had 10 teams and South Zone 12 teams. Masters and Legends had 13 teams. Points and a final series were introduced in Masters for the first time. The Raiders Legends team won 2 games and the Supers team won 4 games and missed finals. The Masters team finished the season with 8 wins and 1 loss to finish in 2nd place on the ladder. We beat Melbourne in a semi final at Braybrook but lost the Grand Final to Bayside Saints by 11 points at Pines FC. We had 25 new players at the club and 108 guys play for the Raiders in 2012. We had 2 new trainers at the club, Ashlea Powell as head trainer and Lauren Deveney as training night trainer. Bob Keillor played his 150th game for the club. Dixon Hayes and Dave Nagy played their 100th games for the club. Dingley defeated Frankston to win the South Zone Premiership. At the 2012 Best and Fairest vote count Gabe Mauerhofer won the Supers award, Rob Crivellaro won the Masters award and Vin Brown won the Legends award. At presentation night Mark Leonard and Andy Sumner were awarded Life Membership. Leon Palmer was awarded the Best Clubman award and Ross Twyford won the Stephen Knights award.