2008 Season


The club executive committee was unchanged for this season. Dean Bowman was appointed Supers coach with Stephen Lewis as captain. Ash Ackehurst continued as Masters Coach with Don Theobald as captain. The National body of Superules changed its name to “Australian Football League Masters”, AFLM. The Over 47’s competition expanded to 6 sides. With good member numbers the Raiders took over the Southern O/47’s after rd 1with Graeme Toms as coach and Des Dalrymple as captain. This gave the club 3 sides for the first time since 2001. It was a hugely successful season for the Raiders. The Supers finished the season in 4th place with 6 wins. They qualified for the Grand Final for the second time by beating Darebin in the semi final at Epping. They lost the grand final to Mordialloc at St Bernards College. The Masters competition was split in to 2 divisions. The Raiders played in Masters 2/3. The Raider Masters team was unbeaten for the season. Masters kicked their highest ever score 20-23-143 when they beat Knox Lions in rd 7 by 133 pts. Andy Burriss won the Masters 2/3 Goal Kicking award with 34 goals. He also kicked the most goals in a game for Masters with 7 goals in rounds 7 & 9. Troy Arnott won the National Carnival O/35 Best & Fairest award in Darwin.